Bertrand Menon

Lawyer

After having spent ten years in a band and even more time in the entertainment industry, Bertrand Menon decided to launch a project specially dedicated to Art and Culture: an affordable legal service that empowers creatives and defends their rights.

Bertrand practices in Art and Entertainment law, focusing (but not exclusively) in the music industry and show production. He serves a wide range of clients: from artists to cultural entrepreneurs to behind-the-curtain players. Based in Montréal, he is regularly called to counsel clients in business matters outside of Quebec, particularly in English Canada, the United States, Asia and France.

Bertrand favours a personable and relaxed service tailored to the specific needs of each client. His approach is daring, innovative and accessible.

Bertrand Menon

Lawyer

After having spent ten years in a band and even more time in the entertainment industry, Bertrand Menon decided to launch a project specially dedicated to Art and Culture: an affordable legal service that empowers creatives and defends their rights.

Bertrand practices in Art and Entertainment law, focusing (but not exclusively) in the music industry and show production. He serves a wide range of clients: from artists to cultural entrepreneurs to behind-the-curtain players. Based in Montréal, he is regularly called to counsel clients in business matters outside of Quebec, particularly in English Canada, the United States, Asia and France.

Bertrand favours a personable and relaxed service tailored to the specific needs of each client. His approach is daring, innovative and accessible.

Drafting, reviewing and negotiating contracts
e.g. recording, management, band, distribution, production, shows, publishing, production, co-writing, partnership, sponsorship, co-production, promoter, synchronization, license, services, assignment/grant of rights, release, representation, confidentiality, non-disclosure, commitment, employment, etc.

 

Interpreting and applying collective agreements
ex. adisq, apasq, aptp, gmmq, spacq, uda, aqad, etc.

 

Copyright
e.g. copyright infringement, collecting societies, moral rights, fair dealing, public domain, remixing and sampling, etc.

 

Consultation and strategy
e.g. commenting contractual proposals, norms and standards in the music industry, legal advice, canvassing for strategic partners, etc.

Me Bertrand Menon

Avocat

Près de dix années au sein d’une formation musicale et davantage de temps à côtoyer le milieu artistique ont poussé Me Bertrand Menon à développer un projet tout spécialement voué aux arts : un service juridique accessible dont l’objet principal est la sensibilisation de la culture à ses droits.

Me Menon concentre sa pratique en droit des arts et du divertissement et offre ses services à une vaste clientèle, principalement composée d’artistes, mais comprenant également différents intervenants des diverses industries culturelles. Son expertise particulière dans l’industrie musicale et la production de spectacle l’amène au quotidien à accompagner ses clients sur la scène internationale, notamment au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Asie et en France.

Amoureux des arts, Me Menon préconise une approche humaine et décontractée centrée sur les besoins spécifiques de chaque client ainsi qu’une démarche à la fois rebelle, innovatrice et accessible. 

Me Bertrand Menon

Avocat

Près de dix années au sein d’une formation musicale et davantage de temps à côtoyer le milieu artistique ont poussé Me Bertrand Menon à développer un projet tout spécialement voué aux arts : un service juridique accessible dont l’objet principal est la sensibilisation de la culture à ses droits.

Me Menon concentre sa pratique en droit des arts et du divertissement et offre ses services à une vaste clientèle, principalement composée d’artistes, mais comprenant également différents intervenants des diverses industries culturelles. Son expertise particulière dans l’industrie musicale et la production de spectacle l’amène au quotidien à accompagner ses clients sur la scène internationale, notamment au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Asie et en France.

Amoureux des arts, Me Menon préconise une approche humaine et décontractée centrée sur les besoins spécifiques de chaque client ainsi qu’une démarche à la fois rebelle, innovatrice et accessible. 

Rédaction, révision et négociation de contrats
ex. disque, gérance, groupe, distribution, réalisation, spectacle, création, édition, production, co-création, partenariat, commandite, coproduction, diffusion, synchronisation, licence, services, cession, quittance, représentation, confidentialité, non-divulgation, engagement, emploi, etc.

 

Interprétation et application des ententes collectives
ex. adisq, apasq, aptp, gmmq, spacq, uda, aqad, etc.

 

Droit d’auteur
ex. violation de droit d’auteur, sociétés de gestion collective, droit moral, utilisation équitable//fair use, domaine public, remix et échantillonnage, etc.

 

Consultation et stratégie
ex. analyse de propositions contractuelles, formations, normes et standards dans l’industrie musicale, consultation juridique, démarchage de partenaires stratégiques, etc.